CoderDojo Belgium regularly organizes special Dojo’s or events that are a bit different from our monthly Dojo 's. With these special Dojo's we try to reach a specific group or make CoderDojo even better known among the general public.

Below you can find a small overview of the activities we have done “on the side” over the past years.

CliniCoders

CliniCoders is an initiative that gives chronically-ill hospitalized children the chance to enjoy a few hours of coding fun. This project, which was initiated with the support of Telenet and X -care , already takes place in the hospitals of UZ Antwerp , UZ Ghent and AZ Groeninge . At UZ Gasthuisberg we have organized a first pilot project.

During CliniCoders the participating children are assisted by kid coaches, who - in turn - are being supported by an adult lead coach. In this way we also promote social interaction between the participants and the kid coaches during the CliniDojo.

Coolest Projects

To the Irish example, CoderDojo Belgium has been organizing 'Coolest Projects' since 2016. Children and adolescents between the ages of 7 and 18 get a stage to introduce their own technological design to the public. During the first edition, enthusiastic young innovators presented 35 projects; the next edition increased the number of projects to 43. Creative entrepreneurs with big dreams can travel to the annual international showcase in Ireland to present one of the more than 500 proposed projects!

In 2016 five projects were awarded for the original, the most creative, the most technological, the most useful and the coolest project. During the second edition, more than 1,000 curious people visited this fair and the 5 prizes of the previous edition were supplemented with the following awards: the most popular, Future makers, most convincing pitch powered by Telenet Kickstart and most innovative school!

The curious visitors admire amazing projects, such as a flickering Christmas tree, sandboxes with a technological twist, retro arcade games, all kinds of robots,… A lot of the ideas are socially inspired: for example glasses to help against color blindness, a set of direction indicators for cyclists, a planning system for pills to aid seniors, an animal-friendly mouse trap and an anti-bullying friendship bench..

Visitors can amuse themselves at the tech hang-out with robots or follow a popup Dojo. A lot of fun gadgets like 3D printers, a hololens, a hot FabLab on wheels and a robot 'Zora' and an interactive Kinect Demo provide extra entertainment.

Coolest project is thus a free Show & Tell XL, made possible by the many volunteer coaches at CoderDojo and sponsor support. We are looking forward to admiring your project during the next Coolest Projects!!

MegaDojo

On May 7th, 2015 CoderDojo Belgium organized its first Mega Dojo at the Limburghallen in Genk. In one day no less than 1024 youngsters learned programming in a fun and easy way.

This Mega Dojo focused on young people between 10 and 14 years old from all disciplines and backgrounds. At the Mega Dojo they did not only learn to program: during a show and exhibition of robots, Teslas , 3D printers , etc. , they got a taste of the fascinating world of technology and science.

We would like to thank our many sponsors and volunteers to turn the first Mega Dojo into a mega - success!

CoderDojo Belgium organise régulièrement des Dojos ou des évènements spéciaux qui diffèrent légèrement de nos Dojos mensuels. Par le biais de ces Dojos, nous tentons d’atteindre une cible plus spécifique ou de faire connaître CoderDojo auprès d’un public encore plus large.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez un petit survol de ce que nous avons réalisé ‘dans les coulisses’ durant les dernières années :

CliniCoders

Clinicoders est un projet qui offre aux enfants (hospitalisés) souffrant de maladies de longue durée de s’adonner pendant quelques heures aux joies de la programmation. Lancé avec le soutien de Telenet et X-care, ce projet court déjà dans les hôpitaux UZ Antwerpen, UZ Gent et AZ Groeninge. A l’UZ Gasthuisberg (à Louvain), nous avons organisé un premier projet pilote.

Lors des CliniCoders, les enfants participants sont accompagnés par des ‘kinder coaches’ qui, eux, sont guidés par des ‘lead coaches’. C’est là un moyen de stimuler l’interaction sociale entre les participants et les ‘kinder coaches’.

Coolest Projects

Depuis 2016, CoderDojo Belgique organise chaque année ‘Projets Coolest’ à l’exemple irlandais. Les enfants et les jeunes âgés de 7 à 18 ans bénéficient d'une plate-forme pour présenter leur propre conception technologique au public. Au cours de la première édition des jeunes innovateurs enthousiastes présentaient 35 projets, la prochaine édition, le nombre augmentait à 43. Les entrepreneurs créatifs qui ont de grands rêves, peuvent voyager à Irlande pour participer à la foire internationale pour participer en tant que l'un des plus de 500 projets !

En 2016, cinq prix ont été remis pour le projet le plus original, le plus créatif, le plus technique, le plus utile et le plus cool. Pendant la deuxième édition, plus de 1000 spectateurs visitaient cette foire et les 5 prix de l'édition précédente ont été complétées par les suivants: le plus populaire, Future makers, Most convincing pitch powered by Telenet Kickstart et l'école la plus innovante!
Les curieux peuvent admirer des projets magnifiques, comme des arbres de Noël vacillantes, des sablières avec une touche technologique, un cabinet d'arcade rétro, toutes sortes de robots,…

Plusieurs projets sont inspirés par des préoccupations sociales. Par exemple, il y avait des lunettes contre la cécité, un système d’indicateurs pour des cyclistes, un planificateur de pilules pour des personnes âgées, une souricière amical, un banc d’amitié contre l’intimidation.
Les visiteurs reçoivent aussi l'opportunité d'expérimenter sur la zone technologique. Le publique pouvait jouer avec des robots, suivre un pop-up Dojo, essayer un holoLens ou voir le robot ‘Zora’ en action.

‘Coolest Pojects’ est un Show & Tell XL gratuit, rendu possible par les nombreux coaches bénévoles de CoderDojo et le soutien des sponsors. Nous attendons avec impatience pour regarder votre projet au cours de la prochaine Coolest Projects!!
 

MegaDojo

Le 7 mai 2015, CoderDojo Belgium a organisé son premier MegaDojo dans les Limburghallen, à Genk. Pendant cette journée, 1024 jeunes ont appris à programmer à l’aide de méthodes simples et ludiques.

Ce MegaDojo s’adressait aux jeunes entre 10 et 14 ans, issus de toutes directions scolaires et de tous milieux. Pendant cette journée, ils n’ont pas uniquement appris à programmer : durant un show et un salon conçus autour de robots, de Teslas et d’imprimantes 3D etc., ils ont pu goûter à d’autres aspects de l’univers fascinant de la technologie et des sciences.

Un grand merci à tous nos sponsors et nos bénévoles qui nous ont aidé à ce que ce premier MegaDojo devienne un méga-succès !